1981 - 1982

Directors: George F. Kramer & Joseph Murray

Assistant Coach: Robert Nelligan

Officer Body

  • President: Cavan Redmond

  • Vice President: Dave Simon

  • Secretary: Sue Bouman

  • Treasurer: Denise Hunt

  • Historian: Dave Andersen

Award Recipients

  • Best Act: Vaulting - Dave Andersen, Phil Barber, Sue Bouman, Buddy Brownstein, Kevin Clair, Kelly Herbert, Keith Horton, Nancy Leggieri, Jim Lisehora, Hirshell McGinnis, Cavan Redmond, Julie Schwarz, Dave Simon, Todd Supple, Linda Traficanti, Ginny von Briesen, and Jeff Wright

  • Best Female Trouper: Julie Schwarz

  • Best Male Trouper:  Cavan Redmond

1981-82 “Showboat”

The year began on a difficult note. Dr. George Kramer took a sabbatical. In his absence, Dr. Joseph Murray took over directorship of the Troupe although he still had the help and guidance of Dr. Kramer.  He was also assisted by Robert Nelligan who had become head coach of the Women's Competitive Gymnastics Team in 1979.

The road show season consisted of shows at local high schools and at Hagerstown Community College.

The Theme for Home Show was "Showboat".  It was not a musical, but the show did involve a trip down the Mississippi on a steamboat.  In honor of the Troupe's founder, the ship was named the D. A. Field.  The emcee for this journey was the most famous riverboat pilot of all time, Mark Twain, played by Jon Pavlovsky.

Comedy trampoline made a return for the first time in quite a few years with Dave Simon and Jim Lisehora as Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn.  Balance beam represented children playing on the railings of the ship.  Ribbons became the play of lightning during a thunderstorm on the Mississippi, and High Bar represented the paddle wheel of the steamboat.


  • Maryland Basketball Halftime Show

  • DeMatha Catholic High School

  • Anne Arundel Community College

  • Hagerstown Junior College

  • Westminster High School

  • Kent County High School

  • Golden Ring Junior High School

  • Home Show